Skip to the content

Monash wins AMSA Emergency Medicine Challenge

A team from Monash University has emerged victorious from the 2009 AMSA Emergency Medicine Challenge (EMC), a centrepiece of the Australian Medical Students' Asssociation (AMSA) national convention in Brisbane.

The EMC is one of a number of intervarsity challenges, in which teams of 6 students from each university tackle ten unique emergency medicine scenarios, devised and assessed by local emergency physicians. This year's EMC judges included emergency department nurses from the Royal Brisbane Hospital, Australian Defence Force medics and Queensland ambulance paramedics.

The Monash University team demonstrated skill, initiative and teamwork to defeat teams from 19 other medical schools across Australia and New Zealand.
The Monash University team members were:
Pete Verbeek (c) Med III
Lara McCartney Med V
Sofia Padhy Med III
Emily Jenkins Med II
Alex Handrinos Med II
Fiona Tsang Med I

The Monash University team members

The AMSA Emergency Medicine Challenge winning team.