Skip to the content

Monash educators recognised through Australian Learning and Teaching Council Citations

Dr Julia Harrison and Professor Catriona McLean have been gained recognition for excellence through the 2009 Australian Learning and Teaching Council Citations.

Dr Julia Harrison and Professor Catriona McLean of Monash University's Faculty of Medicine, Nursing and Health Science have been recognised for excellence through prestigious Australian Learning and Teaching Council (ALTC) Citations, which honour leading Australian university teaching and support staff.

Citations worth $10,000 are awarded by the Australian Government to academic and professional staff members who have made long-standing contributions to the quality of student learning and improving the overall student experience.

Dr Julia Harrison has been recognised for providing local and international leadership through the
conceptualisation and implementation of an innovative curriculum in a new field of medical education: Patient Safety.

Professor Catriona McLean's citation recognised the
development of on-line curriculum resources that engage a dispersed medical student population in a clinically integrated and authentic study of Pathology.

Professor Richard Johnstone, ALTC Executive Director, said the citations reveal the tremendous commitment in the higher education sector to improving the student experience.

“The quality and quantity of applications received represent the incredible effort made by university staff Australia-wide to contribute to a positive learning experience for every student,” Professor Johnstone said.