Skip to the content

A prized night for faculty’s best and brightest

More than 100 high-achieving students received awards for academic excellence at the recent prize night hosted by the Faculty of Medicine, Nursing and Health Sciences.

Professor Steve Wesselingh, Faculty Dean, congratulated students from areas as diverse as surgery, behavioural neuroscience and occupational therapy at the event in mid April.

"These evenings are crucial for recognising the innovation and brainpower of future leaders in the disciplines taught at Monash by this Faculty," Professor Wesselingh said to the filled main dining room of the Clayton campus.

"If the current achievements of these exceptional students are anything to go by, we can look forward to an increasingly bright future in research and practice carried out by our graduates."

Several top students won multiple awards, including medical student Melissa Northcott, who received four prizes for her third-year studies. Other multiple winners included Azra Alimanovic, Michael John Tesoriero, Firuz Salih and Colin John Palmer.

Prize sponsors and their representatives joined the evening as key guests, along with Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Education) Adam Shoemaker, who spoke to the students about the academic strengths of Monash.

Check out the prize night slide show to see a full collection of images taken on the night.

Professor Leon Piterman and Professor Steve Wesselingh

Dean of Medicine, Nursing and Health Sciences Professor Steve Wesselingh (right), with Senior Deputy Dean Leon Piterman, who emceed the evening.

Prize night group photo

From left and clockwise: Vivian Bullwinkel Chair in Nursing, Palliative Care, Professor Margaret O’Connor; Kylie Wesley, winner of the South East Palliative Care Service Essay Prize; Mark Cockayne, CEO of South East Palliative Care; Janet Wettenhall, winner of the South East Palliative Care Service Research Study Scholarship; and senior lecturer Dr Susan Lee.