Skip to the content

Bachelor of Social Work

Social Work is a profession which aims to help people, communities and societies to develop their full potential. It has a particular focus on social justice and on redressing social and economic disadvantage. Social Workers help people with personal and social problems. They help people access community resources and develop community support networks. Social Workers work with individuals, families, groups and communities. They work with organisations and they develop and implement social policy.

The Department of Social Work was established at Monash University in 1973. Since that time the department has become one of the most respected social work schools inside and outside Australia. In 1989 Monash established the first flexible learning degree in Social Work in Australia. Monash has an international reputation for its research into areas such as child abuse and family violence and corrections. Thousands of students have graduated from Monash and gone on to work as professional social workers all around the world.

The Monash Bachelor of Social Work (BSW), and the Monash Bachelor of Arts/Bachelor of Social Work (BA/BSW) and Bachelor of Health Science/Bachelor of Social Work (BHSc/BSW) double degrees, are approved and accredited by the Australian Association of Social Workers (AASW).   These degrees are offered through full time or part time on-campus study, or through full time or part time off-campus study.  In addition, these degrees are offered in Singapore.  Graduates are eligible to practice as social workers in Australia, the United Kingdom and in many other countries.




BSW Information

Department of Social Work
Monash University
PO Box 197
Caulfield East 3145

For Current Student Enquiries
please Tel: 9902 6011
or submit an enquiry at

For Future Student Enquiries
please Tel: 1800 MONASH
(1800 666 274)
or submit an enquiry at